The Dialysis Unit as a Microcosm of Humanity

While the author of Sorrow’s Reward intended to explore issues related to contemporary health care, a primary goal was to take advantage of the dialysis unit environment to tell stories that would develop themes important to all of us. Among these are:

  • The “moral scale” of humans;
  • The varying ways people confront life’s serious issues: courage, compromise, anger, pragmatism, despair. The life consequences of each of these approaches;
  • How little we understand of others’ lives; how unwise it is to ever judge another
  • The nature of family;
  • The power of love;
  • A fundamental truth: we are alone; a fundamental need: someone with whom to talk
  • The key life task: learning to love oneself
  • The central reality of death